Looking at my December Reading Pile – It is Ambitious!

Looking at my December Reading Pile – It is Ambitious!

 

So it has been a struggle to read over the last 10 or 11 months, but now I am staring down at this gorgeous newborn (almost month old) while he sleeps, and a book in my hands. I am excited to plough through the books that have piled up high in those months. We are heading to Durban for the holidays (pandemic permitting), and the man has a month off of paternity leave so I am ready to crack my knuckles and see how much I can get through and catch up on. No pressure – I just want to enjoy my reading again.

Disclaimer: I am not here to shame new moms into reading, it is my safe place and it had been a massive mental health saver during this fourth trimester.

Let’s get into it…

 

About the Books

 

A Passage North by Anuk Arudpragasam

A young man journeys into Sri Lanka’s war-torn north in this searing novel of longing, loss, and the legacy of war from the award-winning author of The Story of a Brief Marriage.

Written with precision and grace, Anuk Arudpragasam’s masterful new novel is an attempt to come to terms with life in the wake of devastation, and a poignant memorial for those lost and those still alive.

Goodreads

No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood

Fragmentary and omniscient, incisive and sincere, No One Is Talking About This is at once a love letter to the endless scroll and a profound, modern meditation on love, language, and human connection from a singular voice in American literature.

Goodreads

Impossible by Sarah Lotz (due in South Africa April 2022)

This is not a love story. This is IMPOSSIBLE.

Nick: Failed writer. Failed husband. Dog owner. Bee: Serial dater. Dress maker. Pringles enthusiast.

When fate brings them together over a misdirected email, the connection is instant. They feel like they’ve known each other all their lives . . . It should have been the perfect love story. Instead it was IMPOSSIBLE.

Goodreads 

 Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu

Nadia Owusu grew up all over the world—from Rome and London to Dar-es-Salaam and Kampala. When her mother abandoned her when she was two years old, the rejection caused Nadia to be confused about her identity. Even after her father died when she was thirteen and she was raised by her stepmother, she was unable to come to terms with who she was since she still felt motherless and alone.

Goodreads

The Leviathan by Rosie Andrews (Due in South Africa March 2022)

The most beguiling debut of 2022, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Binding.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political turbulence and religious zealotry. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding story of impossible things.

Goodreads

The Light Perpetual by Francis Spufford 

From the critically acclaimed and award‑winning author of Golden Hill, a mesmerizing and boldly inventive novel tracing the infinite possibilities of five lives in the bustling neighborhoods of 20th-century London.

Ingenious and profound, full of warmth and beauty, Light Perpetual illuminates the shapes of experience, the extraordinariness of the ordinary, the mysteries of memory and expectation, and the preciousness of life.

Goodreads

Booth by Karen Joy Fowler (Due in South Africa in April 2022)

From the Man Booker finalist and bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves comes an epic novel about the family behind one of the most infamous figures in American history: John Wilkes Booth.

Goodreads

 ***

It’s an exciting pile, I’ll be sure to keep you updated on what I think on the blog and on Instagram  – so make sure you head over there to hit follow and see how I fair with this list.

 

I have to say a massive thank you to Jonathan Ball Publishers for gifting these books to me over the months and putting up with my silence on the review side.